Mama That Could Get Her Black Belt | 5 Days to Black Belt Test

The countdown continues with just 5 more days to go.  Black Belt test is so close I can practically taste it…

Today I broke my first board with a step in side kick, at the end of practice.  It felt so good to see my foot go through that board.  My second kick was a jump back kick and three attempts later…no go.  I didn’t break the board.  To say I was disappointed is a severe understatement.  I was torn between discouragement, disappointment and determination.  I spent the rest of class extra focused and perhaps a little more aggressive than necessary to compensate for the lack of board break.  It really messed with my head.   I could laugh about it, but I couldn’t get it out of my head.

I felt very confident with all my drills, but not seeing myself break that board was a little nerve-wracking.  I get another chance on Wednesday…If I can break that board on Wednesday I know it will go along way toward my confidence and conviction for test day…

Say a prayer for me would you?  If you watch the video, you’ll see a sweet message my sister left me on my board to encourage me.

Little bits of encouragement go a very long way…

 

Leave a Reply

